Current Skincare Routine

Can y’all believe it? Summer is coming to an end in 10 days! Personally, I can’t wait for the fall, because with it, comes the cool breezy nights, the yummy hot chocolate with toasted marshmallows, and the opportunity to break out the winter gear a.k.a. scarves, boots, and of course, the North Face!

I say it with such enthusiasm because I live in Texas. If you have never lived in TX and want to move here, let me warn you now – there is no such thing as a “white Christmas” when you live in TX. Well alright, to be fair, that only applies to those who live in central to southern TX. So if you’re planning on living in the north/west/NW region of TX then fine, you might see snow and you might be able to miss work or school a few days during the cold season. However, I’ve lived in TX my whole life and I’ve never seen snow falling from the sky, and there have been countless winters in which the temperature didn’t fall below 30F. So sadly, I can’t say that the approaching cold weather also brings anticipation of snow, but at least I get to enjoy the other bits.

Anyways, as I begin to transition into the fall/winter season, I usually have to tweak my skincare routine so that I don’t dry out and get chapped skin. Today, I’ll be sharing with y’all my current skincare routine, which includes items that I use every morning, night and on occasion. I’ll also be sharing some other products that I’ll be gradually working into my routine as the weather gets colder.

 

Morning Routine

Senka – Perfect Whip Cleansing Foam (Amazon, $10.99)

A friend introduced this to me at the beginning of the summer when my combo/oily skin was getting out of control. Ever since I’ve been using this, my oils have been in check! I’m definitely not as oily as I was before and I’m loving it!

Aveeno Baby – Soothing Relief Moisturizing Cream (Walmart, $6.97)

I switched to this moisturizer in the spring when I broke out from using the Costco makeup wipes. I had used the Costco wipes for a good two months but then my eyelids started to break out in a rash every time I used it. My eyes got very swollen, red and dry-patchy. I didn’t use makeup for almost two weeks or put anything on my face except water and this moisturizer. It soothes and heals. It is just perfect for those who have sensitive skin!

Missha – All-around Safe Block Aqua Sun Gel SPF 30 (Missha, $14)

Great, lightweight sunscreen! Sometimes when I’m lazy, I don’t use the Aveeno Baby and just slap some of this on. However, Missha has reformulated and made it SPF50. I haven’t used that one yet but if it’s anything like the SPF30 version, it’ll be great!

Night Routine

Olay – Makeup Remover Wet Cloths (Ulta, $5.99)

I love using makeup remover wipes to take off the majority of my makeup for that day. Then I follow up with a cleanser. I do this because I feel like a cleanser alone can’t do the job 100%.

Philosophy – Purity Made Simple One-Step Facial Cleanser (Ulta, $24-36)

This is great for taking off eye makeup. It is very gentle and does a good job, again not 100% but pretty close to it. It was also highly recommended by both, Jaclyn Hill and Kathleen Lights from Youtube.

Aveeno Baby – Soothing Relief Moisturizing Cream

Occasional Use

Simple – Cleansing Micellar Water (Ulta, $7.99)

I use this product to take off false lashes. I usually soak a Q-tip with it and then run it along my lashline to loosen up the lash glue. After that, the lashes come off painless and hassle-free! It’s also a great product to clean your falsies if you like using mascara with it.

St. Ives – Blackhead Clearing Green Tea Scrub (Target, $3.87)

On a Friday/Saturday night when I feel like I’ve worn alot of makeup that week, I’ll use this with the Olay Pro X (Target, $21.49) to exfoliate after I’ve cleansed. Some might say that’s excessive cleaning. Who knows, but I only do this when I feel like I have worn alot of makeup that week and I’ve got alot of clogged pores. I probably only do this about 1-2 times a month, so I don’t think it’s that bad. *shrugs*

Paula’s Choice – Clear Anti-Redness Exfoliating Solution w/ 2% Salicylic Acid (PC, $27)

Again, with the excessive-ness, I’ll use this after I’ve exfoliated with the St. Ives for extra, extra cleanliness. I use the Wet’n’Wild flat foundation brush to apply this to my T-zone only.

Botanics – Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask (Ulta, $9.39)

My skin is super sensitive to facial masks. One time, I broke out from the Feeling Beautiful Mint & Lemon Clay Mask and it caused my skin to blister, crack and severely dry out. Never again will I use that mask, but I’ve used this one for about 3-4 years now and it has yet to do me dirty. I also recently picked up the L’oreal clay masks that came out this summer – I’ll let y’all know what I think of it later. 🙂

Clean & Clear – Persa Gel (Ulta, $6.99)

When I break out with a pimple, this is my best friend! I dot it on over my blemish and it’s gone in two days!

Fall/Winter Skincare

Josie Maran – Pure Argan Milk Intensive Hydrating Treatment (Sephora, $56)

I love using this as a serum under my moisturizer at night. It provides that extra, much-needed hydration during the cold months. It doesn’t feel as oily as other beauty oils, which is great for those who think that putting oils on already oily skin isn’t a good idea. This is infused with purified water which makes it lightweight but very hydrating!

First Aid Beauty – Ultra Repair Cream Intense Hydration (Sephora, $6.50)

I only use the travel size packs. I know that the cost per ounce is insane compared to the bigger sizes, but I think the consistency of the product is different in each of the sizes, which allows it to be absorbed differently by the skin. I’ve used the 2 oz and 6 oz and it just isn’t the same. Definitely recommend this as a great moisturizer!

So there ya go! It was a super long post! #sorrynotsorry Thanks for reading until the end! If y’all have any questions or skincare suggestions, please comment below! I would love to hear what have been y’all favorite skincare products so that maybe I can try out some new things for the upcoming fall/winter!

Posted by

Asian beauty blogger. Texas Longhorn. Scientist.

Leave a comment